When Seconds count, carry concealed
PLEASE NOTE: The reciprocity information on this page is
sourced from the the Florida Division of Licensing. The Division of Licensing
constantly monitors changing gun laws in other states and attempts to
negotiate agreements as the laws in those states allow. The most current
information can be found here:Florida Division of Licensing
Recent Modifications to the Reciprocity List:
NEVADA removed from the list because Nevada authorities terminated the
IOWA added to the list.
NEW MEXICO removed from the list because New Mexico authorities
terminated the agreement.
NEW MEXICO re-added to the list after authorities at the New Mexico
Department of Public Safety confirmed that they would once again honor
Florida concealed weapon licenses.
It is important for license holders to understand that when
they are traveling in or through another state they are subject to the
firearm laws of that state. We have provided links to the state laws or to
the licensing authorities’ Web page of each of our reciprocity states so that
licensees can do the necessary planning and research when preparing to
FLORIDA’S RECIPROCITY STATES
New Hampshire (1,3,4,6)
New Mexico (1)
North Carolina (1)
North Dakota (3,6)
South Carolina (1,4,6)
South Dakota (1,3)
West Virginia (1)
(1) While Florida’s law allows licensees to carry stun guns,
knives, and billy clubs in a concealed fashion, the laws in these states
allow for concealed carry of handguns or pistols ONLY, NOT WEAPONS IN
GENERAL. Florida license holders are prohibited from carrying other types of
weapons while in these states.(2) The State of VERMONT does not issue
weapon/firearms licenses. Florida licensees – indeed, licensed or unlicensed
citizens from any state – may carry in Vermont. This presents a problem for
reciprocity with Florida. Florida law provides that an out-of-state resident
must have in his or her immediate possession a valid license to carry a
concealed weapon or firearm. Since Vermont residents have no such license,
the right to concealed carry cannot be extended to them under Florida law.
Individuals qualify for concealed weapon licenses in these states upon
reaching 18 years of age. HOWEVER, any licensee of these reciprocity states
who is not 21 years of age or older IS PROHIBITED from carrying a concealed
weapon or firearm in Florida.
These states will honor the Florida concealed weapon license ONLY IF the
licensee is a resident of the State of Florida.
The Attorney General’s Office of the State of ALABAMA has indicated that
Alabama will honor BOTH resident and non-resident Florida licenses. However,
the Alabama Attorney General notes that there is some uncertainty as to the
limits of Alabama’s reciprocity law as it pertains to non-resident licenses.
Pending clarification by the Alabama Legislature or a decision by an Alabama
court, he urges non-resident Florida license holders to exercise caution.
Refer to the Alabama AG’s Web page for the latest information.
These states issue concealed carry licenses to qualified individuals who are
non-residents. These non-resident permits cannot be honored under Florida’s